Friday, May 27, 2022
HomeNewsNew councillors for City of Sydney

New councillors for City of Sydney

Clover Moore’s Independents take up five of the 10 seats on council. While this is down one seat from the last council it is the same number her ticket gained in 2004. While the majority of council votes historically are not contentious, in the case of a tied vote the Lord Mayor has a decisive vote. In cases of tied elections, such as for Deputy Lord Mayor, lots are drawn.

In the election for councillors the vote for Clover Moore’s Independent Team (CMIT) was 46 per cent (down from 47 per cent in 2008), electing Robert Kok, Robyn Kemmis, John Mant and Jenny Green. They led the Liberals who received 18 per cent (up from 14 per cent) to elect Edward Mandla and Christine Forster, ahead of Labor with 12 per cent (down from 15 per cent) electing Linda Scott, and the Greens with 9 per cent (down from 18 per cent) electing Irene Doutney, ahead of Living Sydney’s Angela Vithoulkas with 8 per cent. The Sex Party (3 per cent) Housing Action (1 per cent) and Dixie Coulton’s team (1 per cent) were unsuccessful.

The swings in this election are difficult to assess against just 2008 results because the 2008 council elections were held a few days after the ALP dumped Premier Morris Iemma. The 2008 elections saw support for the ALP drop from 25 to 15 per cent, while Clover Moore’s Team increased from 35 to 47 per cent, Greens from 14 to 18 per cent and Liberals from 12 to 14 per cent.

As a result of recent changes to prohibit MPs also holding local government positions, Clover Moore had to choose which position she kept and has reluctantly resigned from the NSW Legislative Assembly. She has lent her support for the state seat of Sydney to Alex Greenwich, who stood on her council ticket. Alex will contest the seat of Sydney against recently retired councillors Chris Harris (Greens) and Shayne Mallard (Liberals).

Who are your City of Sydney councillors?

The brief introductions below were provided by Council. Where known we have added the suburb where the councillor lives.

Clover Moore (CMIT – Redfern)

State Member for Sydney (formerly Bligh) in the Legislative Assembly of the NSW Parliament from 1988 until her forced resignation in September 2012. Clover held the balance of power between 1992-5 with fellow independents John Hatton and Peter McDonald, leading to a number of important reforms. She has been Lord Mayor of the City of Sydney since 2004.

Robert Kok (CMIT – City of Sydney)

Practicing lawyer and past president of the Australian Chinese Community Association of NSW, the largest Chinese community association in NSW. Robert is a WWF-Australia Governor, Past Chair of the City’s Chinese New Year Festival committee and former deputy chair of the City’s Finance Committee.

Irene Doutney (Greens – Redfern)

Respected activist for peace and social justice has a Diploma in Fine Art and BA in History, has been a member of the Factory Community Centre management committee and involved with the resident action group REDWatch.

Robyn Kemmis (CMIT – Glebe)

A former City of Sydney councillor and experienced administrator who was previously UTS Deputy Vice Chancellor (Administration), and has held senior management positions in the NSW Public Service.

John Mant (CMIT – Paddington)

Lawyer and planning expert who was Acting Commissioner at ICAC, Professor of Planning at UTS and is president of the Paddington Society. John co-wrote the Local Government Act.

Jenny Green (CMIT – Potts Point)

Academic Director at the National Judicial College of Australia, UTS lecturer and active community campaigner.

Edward Mandla (Liberal – Potts Point)

President of the Sydney City Liberals, headhunter for Alt-U Asia Pacific Search, an IT specialist and a past president of the Australian Computer Society.

Christine Forster (Liberal – Surry Hills)

An experienced finance journalist and senior Asia writer of Oilgram News.

Linda Scott (Labor – Erskineville)

A senior researcher at Sydney University’s Workplace Research Centre, a research and policy professional and former chair of the Surry Hills Neighbourhood Centre.

Angela Vithoulkas (Living Sydney – City of Sydney)

CEO of the VIVO Café group, a City of Sydney Retail Advisory Panel member and member of the ATO Micro Business Partnership.

- Advertisment -spot_img
- Advertisment -spot_img