Friday, July 19, 2024
HomeNewsCity of Sydney’s line-up decided

City of Sydney’s line-up decided

Clover Moore was declared lord mayor of the City of Sydney Council on December 21, 2021. Having served the city in this pivotal role for 17 years, she was comfortably elected for an historic fifth term.

The Redfern local has pledged action on climate change, including increasing the tree canopy by 75 per cent by 2050 and encouraging some services in the CBD to switch to recycled water.

She will also continue to call for more social and affordable housing and better outcomes for key neighbourhoods such as Waterloo.

A Covid-safe economic recovery is also high on the agenda with moves to encourage people back to the city with events, including free concerts and an al fresco dining program.

The councillors who will serve with Ms Moore for two years and nine months until the next election are:

Jess Scully (Clover Moore Independent Team)
Shauna Jarrett (Liberal)
Sylvie Ellsmore (The Greens)
Linda Scott (Labor)
Robert Kok (Clover Moore Independent Team)
Emelda Davis (Clover Moore Independent Team)
HY William Chan (Clover Moore Independent Team)
Gannon Lyndon (Liberal)
Yvonne Weldon (Independent)

Clover Moore’s team will therefore control five votes in the 10-member council.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisment -spot_img
- Advertisment -spot_img

Sydney’s best ‘top 20’ result in prestigious world rankings

The University of Sydney has secured its highest ever ranking overall and continues to be rated as a top 20 global university in the 2025 QS World University Rankings.

Homes NSW to develop North Eveleigh Clothing Store site

The North Eveleigh Clothing Store Precinct will be transferred to Homes NSW for the delivery of 500 new homes, half of which will be social and affordable homes.

A new kind of industry policy

The Trevor Davies Memorial Lecture is an annual event hosted by the Trevor Davies ALP Branch, and the Newtown ALP State Electorate Council. This year, it was held at the Royal Hotel on June 13. Assistant Minister Tim Ayres, a former branch member and Darlington local, was asked to deliver the address.

Volunteers’ News – July 2024

Volunteers’ News – July 2024.

Refreshing approach to food production

REDFERN: On July 21, I was lucky enough to attend the launch of the new website for Native Botanical Brewery (NBB), and to talk to the team behind this new and innovative business.

‘A giant in the fight for First Nations justice’

It is with great sadness that Reconciliation Australia sends our condolences to the family and friends of the Rev. Dr D. Gondarra OAM.